Affiliates and Visiting Scholars


The IGCCC’s affiliates — a combination of individuals and research centres and networks — are based at the University of St Andrews and elsewhere.

The IGCCC acted as host to many externally-funded visiting scholars over the years, including those in receipt of funding from the EU, the China Scholarship Council, the Polish Academy of Sciences, Tubitac, and more. Below is a partial listing of our visiting scholars.

Building on work focused on global cinema, the Institute’s initiatives seek to provide a suitable forum and space for collaborations for work related to global cinema and creative cultures.

We also seek corporate and institutional sponsorships from across Europe and Asia, and aim to set up partnerships with prestigious international partners — academic institutions, cultural organisations, and film festivals.


Affiliates include:


Dr. Philippa Lovatt, University of St Andrews

Dr. Leshu Torchin, University of St Andrews

Jean-Michel Frodon, Honorary Professorial Fellow St Andrews, Sciences Po, Paris, France

Prof Sarah Barrow, University of East Anglia

Prof. Chris Berry, King’s College London

Dr Ruby Cheung, University of Southampton, UK

Prof Rajinder Dudrah, Birmingham City University, UK

Prof David-Martin Jones, University of Glasgow

Dr Dorota Ostrowska, Birkbeck College, University of London

and others…



Prof Arjun Appadurai, Hertie School, Berlin, Germany

Prof Petr Bilik, Palacky University, Olomouc, Czech Republic

Prof Savas Arslan, Bahcesehir University, Istanbul, Turkey

Prof Melis Behlil, Kadir Has University, Istanbul, Turkey

Dr Marco Dalla Gassa, Ca’ Foscari, Venice, Italy

Marijke De Valck, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

Klaus Eder, General Secretary FIPRESCI, Munich, Germany

Ada Solomon, Hi-film, Romania, Vice-president of the European Film Academy

Prof Monica Talarczyk, Lodz Film School, Poland

Prof. Vito Zagarrio, Roma 3, Italy

and others…



Prof. John Downing, emeritus, SIU, USA

Dr Lalitha Gopalan, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Prof. Hamid Naficy, Northwestern University, Chicago, USA

Jonathan Rosenbaum, independent writer, Chicago, USA

and others…



Prof Richard Allan, City University of Hong Kong

Dr Nick Deocampo, independent scholar/NETPAC, Philippines

Dr. Jinuo Diao, Tsinghua University, Beijing

Dr Alex Fischer, Mahachariya Arts School, Brunei

Dr Ana Grgic, Monash University Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur

Prof Mette Hjort, Arts Faculty, HKBU, Hong Kong

Prof Koichi Iwabuchi, Kwansai Gakuin University, Japan

Prof Soyoung Kim, National University of the Arts, South Korea

Prof Gina Marchetti, University of Hong Kong

Dr. Wang Yao, Beijing Film Academy, China

Prof Li Xun, China Film Archive

and others…




LUNA: London Network of Contemporary Film Exhibition, at Birkbeck College

The Centre for the Study of Globalization and Cultures at the University of Hong Kong.

AHRC’s Diaspora Screen Media Network at the University of Northampton and Birmingham City University



Dr Kai Gao, Shanghai Institute for Foreign Studies, funded by CSC, 2019-2020

Dr. Jiayang Chen, Nanjing University, funded by CSC, 2019-2020

Prof. Karolyna Kosinska, Polish Academy of Sciences, 2018

Dr Alexandru Solomon, independent filmmaker, Bucharest, Romania, 2019

Prof. Petr Bilik, Palacki University, Olomouc, the Czech Republic, 2018

Bruce Chu, China Communications University, Beijing, China, 2017/2018, funded by CSC

Lifei Liu, East Normal University, Shanghai, China, 2017/2018, funded by CSC

Prof Vito Zaggario, Roma Tre University, Rome, Italy, Leverhulme Fellow, 2017

Dr. Jorge Latorre, New York University/University of Navarra, 2017

Dr. Ciprian Tudor, Romanian University for Social Sciences, Bucharest, Romania, 2017

Bilge Tas, Ankara University, Turkey, 2016